The Big Issue at Manly

I spent the early afternoon at Manly.

 

Rumor has it that this area was named after me
 
I now rate the beach at Manly as the 2nd most beautiful beach I’ve seen. (Waikiki is number one). Just look at this…

  

I don’t want to leave.
 It was a fun afternoon absorbing the culture and watching street performers, including this aspiring musician…

 

It’s about time the ukelele made a comeback
 
I also got to meet Peter Fitzgerald. Peter is homeless, but he’s not a beggar. He explained that he works selling copies of “The Big Issue”. I had never heard of it before, so Peter explained the concept to me. Homeless individuals or those at risk of becoming homeless, head over to the magazine’s office and purchase a few copies at a certain price. They then head out and sell the magazine at the cover price. The sellers get to keep the difference. This week’s particular issue costs Peter $3 and he’s allowed to sell it for $6. He keeps the $3 profit to use for meals or for anything else he sees fit. 

 

Twins separated at birth?

It’s a cool program and I was happy to support it. One more note: Peter really likes Americans. He says that the USA has saved Australia’s butt several times. “If it weren’t for the USA, we might all be speaking Japanese”. Thanks, Pete.  

One thought on “The Big Issue at Manly

Leave a Reply

